Force Conversions

force conversions
Force Conversions logo
Select a unit of force

What is force?

Force is any influence that produces a change in the speed, direction or shape of an object. The standard derived unit of force in the International System of Units (SI) is the newton (N). Common units of force currently in use include kilonewton (kN), decanewton (daN), millinewton (mN), dyne (dyn), kip, gram-force (gf), kilogram-force (kgf), ounce-force (ozf), pound-force (lbf), poundal (pdl) and kilopond (kp).

Common force conversions

  • 1 newton (N) = 105 dyne (dyn) = 0.22481 pound-force (lbf)
  • 1 dyne (dyn) = 10-5 newtons (N) = 1.0197x10-6 kilopond (kp)
  • 1 poundal (pdl) = 0.138255 newtons (N) = 13,825 dyne (dyn)
  • 1 pound-force (lbf) = 4.448222 newtons (N) = 32.174 poundal (pdl)
  • 1 kilogram-force (kgf) = 1 kilopond (kp) = 9.80665 newtons (N)

Subdivisions and multiples of the newton using SI prefixes

Subdivisions of the newton Multiples of the newton
Name Symbol Value Name Symbol Value
decinewton dN 10-1 N decanewton daN 101 N
centinewton cN 10-2 N hectonewton hN 102 N
millinewton mN 10-3 N kilonewton kN 103 N
micronewton μN 10-6 N meganewton MN 106 N
nanonewton nN 10-9 N giganewton GN 109 N
piconewton pN 10-12 N teranewton TN 1012 N
femtonewton fN 10-15 N petanewton PN 1015 N
attonewton aN 10-18 N exanewton EN 1018 N
zeptonewton zN 10-21 N zettanewton ZN 1021 N
yoctonewton yN 10-24 N yottanewton YN 1024 N