Joule conversions

Convert joules to

joule (unit of energy or work), pl. joules, abbr. J

The joule conversion selector above selects the energy measurement unit to convert to starting from joules (J). To make a conversion starting from a unit of energy other than joule, simply click on the "Reset" button.

About joule

The joule is the derived unit of energy or work in the SI.

One joule (J) is equal to 1,000,000 microjoules (μJ), or 1,000 millijoules (mJ), or 0.001 kilojoules (kJ), or 10-6 megajoules (MJ), or 10-9 gigajoules (GJ) or 10-12 terajoules (TJ).

The joule is the energy consumed or work done when a force of one newton acts to move an object through a distance of one meter or the energy required to produce one watt of power for one second.

1 J = 1 N×m = 1 W×s = 1 kg×m2/s2

The joule unit is named after the English physicist James Prescott Joule who lived between 1818 and 1889.

Symbol: J

Plural: joules

Subdivisions and multiples of the joule using SI prefixes

Subdivisions of the joule
Name Symbol Value
decijoule dJ 10-1 J
centijoule cJ 10-2 J
millijoule mJ 10-3 J
microjoule μJ 10-6 J
nanojoule nJ 10-9 J
picojoule pJ 10-12 J
femtojoule fJ 10-15 J
attojoule aJ 10-18 J
zeptojoule zJ 10-21 J
yoctojoule yJ 10-24 J
Multiples of the joule
Name Symbol Value
decajoule daJ 101 J
hectojoule hJ 102 J
kilojoule kJ 103 J
megajoule MJ 106 J
gigajoule GJ 109 J
terajoule TJ 1012 J
petajoule PJ 1015 J
exajoule EJ 1018 J
zettajoule ZJ 1021 J
yottajoule YJ 1024 J

Joule conversions: a detailed list with conversions from joules to other (metric, imperial, or customary) energy measurement units is shown below.

Back to joule (J)