Are conversions

Convert ares to

are (metric unit of area), pl. ares, abbr. a

The are conversion selector above selects the area/surface measurement unit to convert to starting from ares (a). To make a conversion starting from a unit of area other than are, simply click on the "Reset" button.

About are

The are is the original base unit of area in the metric system equal to 100 square meters (1 a = 100 m2), the standard derived unit of area in the International System of Units (SI).

The are (a) is also equal to 0.01 hectares (ha) (a unit of area in the metric system), or 0.0001 square kilometers (km2) (a unit of area in the SI), or 0.0247105381 acres (ac), or 1,076.39104 square feet (sq ft) or 119.599005 square yards (sq yd), which are Imperial / US customary units of area.

Examples of subdivisions and multiples of the are include:

  • The centiare, equal to 0.01 ares or 1.0 square meters
  • The deciare, equal to 0.1 ares or 10 square meters
  • The decare, equal to 10 ares or 1,000 square meters
  • The hectare, equal to 100 ares or 10,000 square meters

One are is equal to one square decametre (or square decameter, US spelling), the equivalent unit of area in the SI.

The are (a) is used for measuring real estates and land areas.

Symbol: a

Plural: ares

Are conversions: a detailed list with conversions from ares to other (metric, imperial, or customary) area and surface measurement units is presented below.

Back to are (a)